Image of the Year - 'Honister Pass' by Graham Binns

On 29 June our President, Rais Hasan LRPS LDPS, had a very busy evening!

Before the main business of the evening, he  acknowledged members' achievements in external competitions and qualifications during 2016-7:

·         David Hopkinson won the Mabel Bruce Trophy for the best Architecture print from the YPU

·         Graham Binns won a Certificate of Merit from the YPU

·         Kyle Smith became a Qualified Member of the Guild of Photographers

·         Rais, himself, was awarded the Licentiate of the Royal Photographic Society

The club trophies were then presented.

The Trophies

The results of this session's club competition were:

·         Norman Stow‘Architectural Record’ Trophy, winner:    David Hopkinson

·         HM Storey Salver for Monochrome All-Rounder, winner:    Rais Hasan                             

·         W H Hammond Trophy for best Portrait, People or Figure Study, winner:    Andrew Holland

Andrew Holland accepts the WH Hammond Trophy

·         JH Leighton Trophy for the best Pictorial Print, winner:   Graeme Mitchell  

·         J W Murray Monochrome Pictorial Trophy, winner:    Andy Withey

Andy Withey accepts the JW Murray Trophy          

·         Walker Trophy for Colour All-Rounder, winner:    Andy Withey       

·         Tom Scatchard Memorial Trophy - Record. Best set of 3 images, winner:   Don Crabtree

·         Norfolk Trophy - Natural History. Best image, winner:     Sandra Cockayne                       

·         J.F. Mather Trophy - Open Pictorial. Best set of 3 images. Winner:   Jason Feather

Jason Feather accepts the JF Mather Trophy

·         Bronze Statuette - Novice Open. Best image, winner: Tony Kilcoyne

·         D Bates Trophy - Open All-Rounder. Best set of 4 images, winner:    Andrew Holland       

·         Percy Lund Rose Bowl - Novice All-Rounder. Best set of 4 images, winner:    Graham Binns

·         C.E. Lawson Trophy - Creative Processing. Best image, winner:     Alex Daniel     

·         V.B. Lloyd Trophy - Photojournalism, Action or Sport. Best image, winner:   Andrew Withey Audio Visual Trophy , winner:    Jason Feather                                                      

·         Phone & Tablet Trophy, winner:    Gareth Nolan                                                      

After the trophy presentation, those present watched a slide show of all these winning images and voted for the Image of the Year. After an initial tie, the second vote between the tied images gave the title to 'Honister Pass' by Graham Binns (see header image).

Graham Binns accepts the Image of the Year Trophy

The evening was rounded off with a feast of nibbles and a good chat. Everyone dispersed for the summer agreeing that it had been a very successful President's Evening.


All Event Images by Martin Singleton